Russia uses digital rubles to pay salaries for first time

fiverr
Ledger



Russia’s Finance Ministry has paid some employees in digital rubles for the first time, moving the central bank digital currency into regular government payroll on Oct. 1.

Summary

  • Russia’s Finance Ministry paid some employees in digital rubles for first time on October 1.
  • Digital ruble salary payments remain voluntary and ministry did not disclose participant numbers or amounts.
  • Russia moved nearly 16 million rubles through digital budget trials during 2025 before this rollout.
  • Major banks began offering digital ruble services nationwide on September 1 under Russia’s phased rollout.
  • EU sanctions ban support for developing Russia’s digital ruble while domestic adoption continues this year.

The Russian Finance Ministry said participating employees opened digital ruble accounts on the Bank of Russia’s platform before receiving their wages. The ministry did not disclose how many employees took part or the total value of the payments.

bybit

Receiving salary in digital rubles remains optional. Employees can continue receiving wages through existing payment methods, while people who choose the digital version must open an account on the central bank platform themselves.

Russia moves digital ruble into regular government payroll

The Oct. 1 payments follow earlier tests involving federal budget spending. During 2025, the Finance Ministry and Federal Treasury used nearly 16 million rubles in digital currency for trial transactions covering selected salaries, stipends and payments under government contracts, according to the ministry.

Those pilot payments tested whether the Bank of Russia’s infrastructure could handle public spending before the system moved into regular government use. The Bank of Russia said its 2025 pilot covered core transfers between individuals and businesses, budget payments and several types of smart contracts.

Budget use expanded from January 2026. Federal state-owned, budget-funded and autonomous institutions gained access to digital rubles for eligible spending, while some institutions could accept payments for services through the same system, according to the Finance Ministry’s Oct. 2 announcement.

The Bank of Russia prepared payroll functionality before the latest Finance Ministry payments. A June 19 board decision introduced platform tariffs specifically covering digital-ruble transfers from companies to individuals for salaries and other employment-related payments.

Payroll transfers carry a zero platform charge through the end of 2026. From Jan. 1, 2027, the Bank of Russia’s published tariff schedule provides compensation of 67 kopecks per completed payroll instruction to participating institutions, subject to a minimum amount per payment register.

Digital ruble became available through major banks Sept. 1

The salary rollout came one month after Russia started the first large-scale stage of digital ruble access.

The Bank of Russia announced that major banks and large retailers would open their systems for digital ruble transactions from Sept. 1. Individuals can use the currency if they choose, opening a digital ruble account through the mobile application of a participating bank.

The account itself is held on the Bank of Russia platform. Commercial banks provide the interface used to access it, meaning an individual does not open separate digital ruble balances at every participating lender.

One digital ruble carries the same face value as one cash or conventional bank-account ruble. The Bank of Russia describes it as a third form of Russia’s national currency alongside cash and non-cash money.

Individuals can transfer up to 300,000 rubles each month from ordinary bank accounts into their digital ruble account. Businesses do not face the same top-up limit, while funds already held in a digital wallet can be spent without that monthly restriction.

For consumers, digital ruble payments and person-to-person transfers carry no platform fee. Businesses have received a temporary zero-fee period through Dec. 31, with standard merchant charges beginning in 2027.

MTS, Rostelecom and MegaFon prepared their payment infrastructure for the Sept. 1 launch, alongside retailers such as Wildberries and Ozon.

Russia’s digital ruble rollout will continue through 2028

The Sept. 1 requirement applies first to Russia’s largest banks and qualifying large merchants. Retail companies covered in the first phase generally include businesses with annual revenue above 120 million rubles that meet the relevant banking conditions.

From Sept. 1, 2027, banks with universal licenses and qualifying merchants with revenue above 30 million rubles are scheduled to join. Another stage begins in September 2028 for banks with basic licenses and other covered merchants.

Small retail outlets fall outside parts of the mandate. The Bank of Russia says stores with annual revenue below 5 million rubles, along with outlets operating where internet access is unavailable, do not have to accept the CBDC.

Participation remains voluntary for individuals even as covered banks and retailers face infrastructure requirements. Bank of Russia Governor Elvira Nabiullina previously described personal use as an “option and not a requirement,” while confirming that customers of major banks would gain access from September 2026.

As crypto.news reported when the rollout began, the digital ruble expansion arrived on the same date that Russia’s new regulated cryptocurrency framework took effect. The two systems remain separate: the digital ruble is central bank money, while Bitcoin, Ether and other cryptocurrencies operate under separate digital-asset rules.

Russia is testing digital rubles beyond domestic retail payments

Work on the currency is extending into public finance and possible international settlement.

Nabiullina said the Bank of Russia had tested programmable budget transactions with the Finance Ministry, Federal Treasury and regional authorities. The central bank said payment rules can be attached to certain transactions so funds are released for specified recipients or expenses after preset conditions are met.

Cross-border work is being explored separately. Russian and Indian officials were discussing ways central bank digital currencies could be used in bilateral trade settlement. No operational Russia-India CBDC settlement network had been announced at the time.

The Bank of Russia has previously described cross-border settlement as one possible use for the digital ruble, while its domestic rollout remains focused on payments, transfers and government transactions.

The project faces restrictions from the European Union. In April, the Council of the EU adopted its 20th sanctions package over Russia’s war against Ukraine, including a ban on EU support for development of the digital ruble. The measures separately targeted Russian crypto platforms and RUBx transactions.

As crypto.news reported before the September launch, Russia continued preparations despite the EU measures, with the Bank of Russia keeping the Sept. 1 domestic rollout timetable in place.



Source link

Bybit

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.


*